[PSR-News] Latitudes & NewsBits articles for September 2011

Tamase, Marco marco at library.ucla.edu
Mon Oct 3 10:44:33 PDT 2011


Dear Network Colleagues,

We are pleased to bring you our monthly digest of Latitudes and NewsBits articles.  Latitudes<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsletter/2011/09/> brings together four featured articles during the month of September 2011:

PubMed Training Changes<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsletter/2011/09/27/pubmed-training-changes/>

-          The National Library of Medicine Training Center (NTC) has announced some changes to the way they teach PubMed classes.

"Fleeing to a Foreign Country:"  A Reflection on the Arizona Refugee Resettlement Conference<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsletter/2011/09/22/a-reflection-on-the-arizona-refugee-resettlement-conference/>

-          Yamilla El-Khayat, Outreach Services Librarian at the Arizona Health Sciences Library, provides a personal account of the 2011 Arizona Refugee Resettlement Conference, held September 7-8, 2011 in Tucson, Arizona.

Save the Date! MLGSCA Symposium "Information Treasure Hunt: Supporting Evidence-Based Practice @ Your Institutions"<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsletter/2011/09/15/save-the-date-mlgsca-symposium-information-treasure-hunt-supporting-evidence-based-practice-your-institution/>

-          MLGSCA presents "Information Treasure Hunt: Supporting Evidence-Based Practice @ Your Institution" on Friday, March 2, 2012, from 8 AM -5 PM at UCLA.

National Preparedness Month 2011: A Time to Remember. A Time to Prepare.<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsletter/2011/09/02/national-preparedness-month-2011-a-time-to-remember-a-time-to-prepare/>

-          September is National Preparedness Month. Emergency preparedness is one of those topics that is easily pushed to the back-burner, but in light of recent natural disasters around the country, National Preparedness Month reminds us how important emergency preparedness is.

In addition, the following list of announcements, upcoming events and tech tips were posted in NewsBits<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/>:


-          2011 Disaster Health Information Outreach and Collaboration Projects Announced<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/28/2011-disaster-health-information-outreach-and-collaboration-projects-announced/>

-          PubMed Health - A Growing Resource for Clinical Effectiveness Information<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/27/pubmed-health-%e2%80%94-a-growing-resource-for-clinical-effectiveness-information/>

-          An Update of RxNorm Webcast<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/26/an-update-of-rxnorm-webcast/>

-          Enhanced Access to Herb and Supplement Information on MedlinePlus<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/22/enhanced-access-to-herb-and-supplement-information-on-medlineplus/>

-          September eBoard Slides: National Hispanic Heritage Month<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/21/september-eboard-slides-national-hispanic-heritage-month/>

-          PubMed Mobile and Updated eBoard Slide<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/20/pubmed-mobile-and-updated-eboard-slide/>

-          Clinical Advisory: NINDS Stops Treatment with Combination Antiplatelet Therapy Due to Higher Risk of Major Hemorrhage and Death<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/20/clinical-advisory-ninds-stops-treatment-with-combination-antiplatelet-therapy-due-to-higher-risk-of-major-hemorrhage-and-death/>

-          2012 Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) Now Available<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/16/2012-medical-subject-headings-mesh-now-available/>

-          Citing Medicine Updated<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/15/citing-medicine-updated/>

-          HHS Launches Million Hearts Campaign<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/13/hhs-launches-million-hearts-campaign/>

-          National Health IT Week: September 11-16, 2011<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/13/national-health-it-week-september-11-16-2011/>

-          Consumer Health IT Summit - September 12th, 2011<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/12/consumer-health-it-summit-%e2%80%93-september-12th-2011/>

-          September eBoard Slides: Get Ready Day<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/09/september-eboard-slides-get-ready-day/>

-          HealthIT.gov has Officially Launched<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/08/healthit-gov-has-officially-launched/>

-          MCH Back-to-School! New Set of School Resource Briefs<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/08/mch-back-to-school-new-set-of-school-resource-briefs/>

-          New National Library of Medicine Enviro-Health Links Page: Developing and Using Medicines for Children<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/06/new-national-library-of-medicine-enviro-health-links-page-developing-and-using-medicines-for-children/>

-          Health Data Tools and Statistics on PHPartners.org<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/06/health-data-tools-and-statistics-on-phpartners-org/>

-          September NIH News in Health Now Available!<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/06/september-nih-news-in-health-now-available/>

-          September eBoard Slides: Fruit and Veggies More Matters Month and Whole Grains Month<http://nnlm.gov/psr/newsbits/2011/09/01/september-eboard-slides-fruit-and-veggies-more-matters-month-and-whole-grains-month/>

Best regards,

Marco

Marco A. Tamase
National Network of Libraries of Medicine
Pacific Southwest Region
310-206-5633
http://nnlm.gov/psr


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.ucla.edu/pipermail/psr-news/attachments/20111003/b5f396e1/attachment-0001.html>


More information about the PSR-News mailing list