Committee on Unfinished Business at Constitutional Convention

Richard Dougherty doughr at
Mon Apr 21 12:55:04 PDT 2008

There is sometimes confusion about the committees, so I'll provide two answers:
1) The Committee of Detail, appointed July 23, was made up of Rutledge,
Randolph, Gorham, Ellsworth, and Wilson.  It reported out August 6.
2) The Committee on "remaining matters," sometimes called the
"committee of eleven," appointed August 31, included Gilman, King,
Sherman, Brearley, Morris, Dickinson, Carrol, Madison, Williamson,
Butler and Baldwin.  It reported out beginning the next day.Richard Dougherty
University of Dallas
-----Original Message-----
From: "Earl Maltz" <emaltz at>
Sent 4/21/2008 12:57:01 PM
To: conlawprof at
Subject: Committee on Unfinished Business at Constitutional ConventionDoes anyone know which delegates served on the Committee on
Unfinished Business at the Constitutional Convention?
To post, send message to Conlawprof at
To subscribe, unsubscribe, change options, or get password, see
Please note that messages sent to this large list cannot be viewed as private.  Anyone can subscribe to the list and read messages that are posted; people can read the Web archives; and list members can (rightly or wrongly) forward the messages to others.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...

More information about the Conlawprof mailing list